I spent most of today upset about the that informed teachers that we were going to be locked out of our workplace more than 45 minutes before or after the instructional time we have with students, and that we were locked out of working during recess or lunch. An hour and a half outside of class time is not enough time to work with students who are struggling, plan lessons that will engage my students, assess and evaluate the work that they produce and write report cards (which are definitely on every teacher’s mind at this point in the year). Yet the letter from BCPSEA clearly states that I am not to work outside of this time: teachers “are directed not to substitute work in place of [attending meetings, including school and class organization meetings; performing professional development activities; or evaluating educational programs], regardless of where or when these substitute tasks are performed”; it further orders me that I am “directed not to work during recess or lunch hours.”

These are times that I frequently work with students, or supervise students in my classroom who need to get caught up on work, want to get ahead on work, or need a quiet, safe place to stay as they work through friendship issues or other things that are going on in their lives. This is a time when I talk to students to check in on their lives, when I provide a listening ear and sometimes advice on how to deal with something they’re struggling with. It’s a time when I connect with my students.

It’s time I am not allowed to provide any more.

– which is not directed to me, by the way, but to my employers – tells admin that “Teachers are free to participate in all extracurricular activities, including on school property. There is nothing in the lockout that prevents BCTF members from continuing to participate in such activities as graduation, sports, and awards events. If teachers choose not to participate in such activities, they do so as a result of their own decision.”

Um. First of all, most of the extracurricular activities I have organized occur during lunch, because most of my students are maxed out on after-school activities. I am not allowed to work during lunch.

Our leaving ceremony for the grade sevens occurs in the evening – well after the 45 minute lockout. How am I going to attend if I am not allowed to be at work during that time?

Most importantly, the 100 minute preparation time that I receive each week is nowhere near enough time to plan the engaging, stimulating and creative curriculum with which I provide my students; make copies of worksheets and handouts that support that curriculum; read up on the latest research in terms of brain development, curricular knowledge, anti-bullying programs, formative and summative assessment and the myriad other things I have studied this year to improve my teaching; provide my students with assessment feedback on assignments that they have completed; evaluate the final products of a unit; connect with parents directly and indirectly; collaborate with colleagues on the educational, social and emotional needs of my students; talk with students about those needs and answer their questions about an assignment, a concept, or a problem they are having either face-to-face or via email; reflect critically on my teaching; or write detailed, informative report cards that accurately and fairly represent where a student is at a particular point in time.

With the exception of the report card writing, every single one of those activities are ones that I have done this week. These activities are ones that each of my colleagues do every week as well. Most of this is done outside what the government – when they’re not trying to justify a wage cutback – tells the public is my 8 am to 3 pm workday.

If we are locked out, then it becomes a question of whether I provide extracurricular activities in my 45 minutes before and after the instructional day or do some (it will be impossible to do all) of the activities above.

My job is to teach the curriculum the government sets for each student to learn. I do extracurricular activities on a voluntary basis because I know that students who are connected with their school will find it easier to learn – and, honestly, because I believe these activities are a benefit for students in general, outside of any connection they have to the curriculum or to school. But if it comes down to helping students learn or helping them explore other facets of life, I have to focus on their learning.

I work hard for your children – I work hard for my students – and I became a teacher because I truly believe it is one of the most important things in the world.

“Children are not a distraction from more important work. They are the most important work.” – John Trainer

Being locked out to such an extreme extent, however, I cannot do what I did in the time I am given. So what, Minister Fassbender, should I drop?